Assisted death

I met a lovely person some years ago at an event. She is intelligent and kind.

I haven’t seen her in years due to her being chronically ill. However I am friends with them on Facebook. I’ve been following their journey with their illness and they have been so brave through it all.

Months ago they wrote a post on Facebook about the extent of the illness and how it has severely impacted their life, and how it will only get worse. They said they had decided on assisted death in Switzerland.

Yesterday they got a date. It’s about 6 weeks away. I will miss their updates and their life. However I am happy they are doing what they feel is best for them.

I’m pro choice as well as pro death. I think assisted death should be legal everywhere. In South Africa there is a Facebook page that is pro death and is fighting for it to be legal here.

I’m not shy to say, I am jealous of people who can do assisted death. I don’t have any chronic illness or anything like that. However I do suffer from mental health and dying crosses my mind at least once a day.

For now, I won’t do it. My mom is still alive. But once she dies, all bets are off. As I’ve said in previous posts, family and I are not close. So only my mom keeps me here for now.

I’ve researched assisted death and the only thing stopping me besides my mom is money. It is very expensive to go to the clinic. Air fare, doctors to sign off and the clinic itself. Very expensive. It’s ok though, where there is a will, there is a way.

For the next 6 weeks, I will follow this person on Facebook as I have been. I’m happy they’re getting what they want. Even though I am jealous.


Discover more from A Broken Space

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a comment